.

G&A or Kinnelon Bagel: Which is the Tri-Boro's Best?

Review your favorite and they may win the title.

and have long been staples of the tri-boro community. We decided to pin them up against each other in a rivalry only our readers can claim the winner of: Which shop has the best bagels?

Some like their bagels fluffy and served hot. Some care more about the variety of flavors. Whatever your bagel preference, help out your favorite bagel spot in Tri-Boro Patch's first Patch Rivals contest.

How it Works: Visit either G&A Bagels' Patch Places page here or Kinnelon Bagel's Patch Places page here and leave a review in the comments. On Feb. 29 at 5 p.m., the business with the most reviews will be declared the winner! The winner will be rewarded with assorted Patch swag and the satisfaction of knowing they're a tri-boro favorite.

What You Can Get Out Of It: The most popular bagel shop won't be the only winner. Right after we count up all the reviews, we will be choosing one random reviewer to receive a $20 gift certificate to the winning business! 

  • Open to legal residents of the 50 United States, the District of Columbia who are 18 and older.
  • To enter, review the business of your choice, either Kinnelon Bagel or G&A Bagels, by commenting on the respective business' Patch Places page.
  • All entries must be received by Feb. 29 at 5 p.m. Eastern Time.
  • You may enter one time, so that everybody has a chance.
  • One winners will be selected in a random drawing.
  • One winner will receive a $20 gift card to the winning business.
  • Click Here for complete Official Rules.
Local Mom February 03, 2012 at 03:00 PM
What about Butler Bagels. I may like G&A's, but I also like Butler Bagels and they need my support more than G&A's. We need to support the businesses on Main Street in Butler and Bloomingdale.
Ariana Cohn-Sheehan (Editor) February 03, 2012 at 06:07 PM
Local Mom, We are not saying these are the only bagel shops in our area. We're just pinning these two against each other in the contest because they have been around the longest and have a somewhat organic rivalry already.
ccorco February 03, 2012 at 09:31 PM
G&A is the best!
Karen February 03, 2012 at 09:41 PM
I like Kinnelon Bagel the best.
Nancy Stagg Bosch February 03, 2012 at 10:00 PM
Kinnelon Bagel is the Best!!!! Try the french toast bagels! :o)
Ann February 03, 2012 at 10:50 PM
Goldberg's bagels in Pompton Lakes blows them all out of the water
Lisa Loren February 03, 2012 at 11:45 PM
I have to say Kinnelon Bagels, especially when they come fresh out of the oven! Kinnelon Bagels all the way
Richard Dean February 04, 2012 at 12:26 AM
If buying just bagels I would do so at Kinnelon Bagels. But when buying Bagel sandwiches, G&A is the absolute best. One of the best is their bacon tuna on a cinnamon raisin bagel.
Ariana Cohn-Sheehan (Editor) February 04, 2012 at 12:45 AM
Don't forget to review the business of your choice so try can win the contest!
matt February 04, 2012 at 01:56 AM
G&A is the best. I would not bother going back to Kinnelon Bagel again they had ripped me off. I have never been to Butler bagel but i have heard they are good. I dp know my co workers and friends that go to G&A's a lot. And both Butler and G&A's bagels need are support.
Linda Tria February 04, 2012 at 07:33 AM
My vote goes to G&A ! The bagels have the toppings on both sides.
Brian Sniatkowski February 04, 2012 at 12:12 PM
What if one has more reviews but most are negative, does it still win?
Ariana Cohn-Sheehan (Editor) February 04, 2012 at 04:14 PM
Actually, you are correct Brian. However, our hope is that people simply review their favorite, which would naturally be a positive review.
Richard Dean February 04, 2012 at 07:25 PM
G&A's history actually goes back about 20 years if not longer when they first opened as a 24/7 bagel deli in Newfoundland. About 1995 or 1996 G&A made the move 8 miles south to Butler into what had been Arrow Tire and previous to that a Shell station. I don't know if G&A still does but at the time it was supplying bagels to dozens of stores and other eateries on a daily basis.
John Riggs February 05, 2012 at 02:43 PM
I like the new bagel shop in Bloomingdale on Main Street. "D & D Bagel & Wraps". It's the old Bobby's Bagel. They renovated & cleaned up the place and it's GREAT !! You should try it out !!
Barbara Benack Cavallaro February 07, 2012 at 11:44 AM
Butler Bagel outdoes them both.
paul bastante February 10, 2012 at 01:24 PM
I think it is so stupid to "pit" these two bagel places against each other. There are no less than 5 or 6 bagel stores in the area, why only two? Perhaps these are two of the editors favorites and that is why we are discussing because it is certainly not fair to IGNORE all of the rest. All you have here is employees and owners of every bagel place weighing in as if theyre someone else. What a waste of time.
paul bastante February 10, 2012 at 01:27 PM
We'll review when ALL choices are available, not just two. Organic rivalry? Really??
Ariana Cohn-Sheehan (Editor) February 10, 2012 at 01:37 PM
Paul, I can promise you that I have no "favorite" bagel store and I frequent all of them equally. Actually, the bagel store I most often "work out of" is neither of these but Butler Bagels & Grill (you can follow my check-ins on Foursquare @ArianaSheehan), which not only has a good bagel, but great wi-fi too. The purpose of the contest isn't to ignore all other bagel stores. Kinnelon Bagel and G&A Bagels have been around the longest, and Patch's across the country do this Patch Rivals contest which is meant to pin one against another. But to your point, we will be offering an opportunity for readers to participate in something similar where they get multiple choices to choose from-stay tuned on that. Also to your point, if there is a bagel shop you prefer that's not included here, I'd encourage you to visit their Patch Places page and leave them a review as well, since that's really what the contest is about.
Alan Rose February 16, 2012 at 02:46 PM
Goldberg's is the best! And they too, have been around a long time! The owner comes from a family who has been in the bagel business since the 30's.
SANDRA SULSKI February 23, 2012 at 02:34 PM
BUTLER BAGEL IS EXCELLENT
Michael Cohn February 26, 2012 at 06:18 PM
I'm not aware of any Goldberg's Bagels in the Triboro area. Where is it?
Michael Cohn February 26, 2012 at 06:20 PM
I'm not aware of any Goldberg's Bagels in the Triboro area. Where is it?
Francesca February 27, 2012 at 01:16 PM
Kinnelon Bagel is by far my favorite ! They are quick and the bagels are always fresh.
Ariana Cohn-Sheehan (Editor) February 27, 2012 at 01:18 PM
Francesca, Don't forget to click the link and go to their page to review them there so you can be eligible to win the gift card. The only reviews that are eligible are those posted on the Patch Places pages for Kinnelon Bagel or G&A.
Chris Arts February 27, 2012 at 08:28 PM
Paul...lighten up...it's a darn internet poll...
Chris Arts February 27, 2012 at 08:29 PM
I like G&A...and I'm not an employee or relative of anyone who works there.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something