McNear, Verdonik Sworn In

Mayor's appointments approved by Butler Council.

One new and one returning councilman were sworn in during the borough's reorganization meeting Tuesday.

The meeting, which was less than 30 minutes long, is held annually for appointments to committees to be made and borough officials to be administered the oath of office.

New Councilman Sean McNear was sworn in first, followed by returning Councilman Ray Verdonik. McNear is currently awaiting a on (See our poll on whether McNear should have forfeited his seat here.)

The council renewed appointments for Borough Attorney Martin F. Murphy, Borough Engineer Paul Darmofalski and Borough Auditors David Evans and Raymond Nisivoccia, all for one year terms.

Chief Jim Neill was sworn in and the following fire marshals were appointed: Richard Dean, Harry Radell, Cliff Guenter, Ed Dwyer, Alan Courtney, Bob Varro, Bob Meier, Jim Soules, Doug Shorter and Roger Struble. Bert Cooper, Tom Lozier and Mike Huha were appointed as alternates. Butler Fire Official Bob Westdyk was also re-appointed.

"I'm very happy with the appointments that were made," Mayor Bob Alviene said at the conclusion of the reorganization meeting. No members of the public came forward to comment during the public portion of the meeting.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »